Peeking at GoogleI make a habit of checking Google's robots.txt file, because it gives a list of everything on the site. Granted, if they really want to hide stuff this won't uncover it, but it's a great way to find funny little things that aren't documented or aimed at the general public.

My big discovery today was a new entry at the bottom of the list, calls/. I was, of course, intrigued to no end to find something in here that is both new and not associated with anything public on Google Labs.

Google/Call XML error of some kindUpon visiting google.com/calls/, I was presented with nothing more than an infitesimal little chunk of XML. I almost completely disregarded it, but then I realized I had nothing better to do than to go ahead and look a little closer.

The first data was an error code of some kind. 103, to be precise. That's not too interesting, but the second piece was. An empty field called "call_id."

Now, I have to have some kind of theory to explain what's going on here, so let's get to it. I think this page is some sort of interface for a VoIP service that's in the works. It's still very much in the works, too, to the point that it doesn't even have any kind of GUI. Still, it's exciting to think that Google could be dabbling in VoIP.

The logical thing would be to extend Google Talk to include VoIP, which would be so amazingly useful. Especially if it were functional from my gMail page. That way I could check my email, IM my friends, and make phone calls from any computer. It would be pretty sweet.

